Skip to main content

Structure of Depository Institutions

(PDF PDF icon)

Passage of the 1994 Reigle–Neal interstate banking legislation spurred consolidation of depository institutions. The total number of FDIC-insured commercial banks declined from 14,417 at the end of 1985 to 8,149 in 2001. However, the total number of banking offices (the sum of the number of banks and their branches) increased more than 23% over the same period from 59,080 to 72,440.

Suggested citation: "Structure of Depository Institutions," Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Economic Trends, no. 02-02, pp. 17, 02.01.2002.

Upcoming EventsSEE ALL