Skip to main content

Federal Home Loan Banks

(PDF PDF icon)

The 12 Federal Home Loan Banks are stock-chartered, government-sponsored enterprises designed to provide liquidity for specialized housing finance lenders. FHLB membership has increased steadily over the years, reaching its high of 7,856 institutions at the end of 1999:IIIQ. Mandatory membership, however, continued its decline to 929 institutions, partly because of consolidation in the thrift industry. (All federally chartered savings associations must belong to their district Federal Home Loan Bank.)

Suggested citation: "Federal Home Loan Banks," Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Economic Trends, no. 00-03, pp. 15-16, 03.01.2000.

Upcoming EventsSEE ALL