Skip to main content

West Virginia Panhandle Banking Market Definitions

The counties listed below, located in the West Virginia panhandle, are within the Fourth District and the banking markets defined by the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. All other West Virginia counties are located in the Fifth District and maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Banking markets that straddle Federal Reserve Districts are maintained on a cooperative basis between the respective Reserve Banks. As a result, bordering Reserve Bank districts should also be consulted.

When appropriate, the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond uses Ranally Metro Areas (RMAs) when defining banking markets. RMAs are metropolitan areas defined by Rand McNally and are located in its Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. Because the RMAs are being revised and updated by Rand McNally continuously, these areas should be verified using the Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.

List updated as of September 12, 2008.

Fourth District

West Virginia Panhandle County Market Name
Brooke Steubenville-Weirton, OH-WV
Hancock Steubenville-Weirton, OH-WV and Youngstown-Warren, OH-WV
Ohio Wheeling, WV-OH
Marshall Wheeling, WV-OH
Tyler Tyler-Wetzel, WV
Wetzel Tyler-Wetzel, WV

Constituent Areas

Market Names Constituent Areas
Huntington WV-KY-OH Wayne County WV; Cabell County WV except the Charleston RMA; Boyd County KY; Greenup County KY except the Fullerton CCD; and Lawrence County, OH
Morgantown WV-PA Monongalia County WV, plus Pt. Marion Borough and Springhill Township in Fayette County PA
Parkersburg-Marietta Wood, Pleasants, Ritchie, and Wirt Counties WV, and Washington, WV-OH County OH
Point Pleasant-Gallipolis WV-OH Mason County WV and Gallia County OH
Steubenville-Weirton Jefferson County OH; Brooke County WV; and Clay and Butler Districts in OH-WV, Hancock County WV
Tyler-Wetzel Tyler County WV and Wetzel County, WV
Wheeling WV-OH Ohio County WV; Marshall County WV; and Belmont County OH
Youngstown-Warren Mahoning County OH except Smith Township; Trumbull County OH except OH-WV Brookfield and Hartford Townships; Columbiana County OH; and Grant District in Hancock County WV

For more information regarding banking market definitions for the Fourth Federal Reserve District, please contact senior examiner Thomas Hendricks at 216.579.3165.

Please review important information related to lack of warranties, copyright protection, and registered trademarks in Terms of Service.